Arrival, Elma Orkestra & Ryan Vail



Northern Ireland




Filmed 2021 - Released 2022 - Includes archive footage from 1959-69


04min 18sec





black and white


Funded by the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland under the Archiving Scheme 2


Amelia Films, Broadcasting Authority of Ireland, Department for Communities, Elma Orkestra, Eoin O'Callaghan, ITV, Quiet Arch Records Ltd., Ryan Vail, UTV Archive

Rights Holder

Northern Ireland Screen

It is illegal to download, copy, print or otherwise utilise in any other form this material, without written consent from the copyright holder.


Northern Ireland Screen invited four artists to respond to the films within the Digital Film Archive. The Looking Glass Anthology is a collection of beautiful works by a range of musicians and poets that capture what the archives mean to them on a personal level.  

Eoin O’Callaghan is Elma Orkestra. The Derry-based composer creates beautiful electronic cinematic music that explores Northern Irish culture and emotions. In partnership with Ryan Vail, he released Borders, a magnificent album of atmospheric pieces and winner of the 2019 Northern Ireland Album of the Year Music Prize. Borders challenges geographic and internal borders with some of the music a product of collaboration with other creatives such as poet Stephen James Smith.

Elma Orkestra has created a vision using the Digital Film Archive to reinterpret ‘Arrival’, one of the tracks from this amazing album. Looking anew at his own music in the light of the films within the archive, this is an exciting aural and visual treat.


A Northern Ireland Screen production funded by the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland under the Archiving Scheme 2.

Directed and Edited by Eoin O'Callaghan.

'Arrival' by Elma Orkestra & Ryan Vail.

Produced by Paul McClintock.



Please scroll to review and accept our terms and conditions (last updated on ) before viewing the moving images content.

To remember your terms and conditions acceptance, you can register as a site member or allow cookies on your browser.