Down to Dublin

Down to Dublin

Sorry, this film is not available for viewing in your region

Unfortunately, due to copyright permissions we are unable to show this video in your area.



Croke Park, Dublin, Newry




Production 15/09/1991


23min 16sec







Digitised as part of the UTV Archive Partnership Project (ITV, Northern Ireland Screen and PRONI)


Department for Communities, ITV, Public Record Office of Northern Ireland

Rights Holder


It is illegal to download, copy, print or otherwise utilise in any other form this material, without written consent from the copyright holder.


Follow the mighty men of Mourne, as they journey to Croke Park, Dublin for the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final of 1991. There, they face the seemingly invincible, Meath.

The nerves, anticipation, hopes and dreams of a county are palpable, as the thirty-one strong squad of soon-to-be legends take the long road to Dublin, followed by their loyal army of supporters who talk of the storied history and pride associated with Down GAA.  

Throughout this journey we will meet many stars of the County Down, including those who had already achieved legendary status such as Colum 'Arkle' McAlarney, who speaks of the importance of the GAA impacting positively on young people's lives.  We will also meet those who, within the space of day, would be spoken about with pride for years to come, including the great Ambrose Rodgers, Mickey Linden, James McCartan and Paddy O’Rourke, to name but a few.

Of course, this momentous occasion in Down's history is nothing without the support of the fans, as the players and management, including Peter McGrath, watch in disbelief as the team triumphantly return home flocked by thousands of jubilant supporters. No matter what county you are from, this documentary will have you cheering for Down come the next Championship season.




Camera: David McBride, Blane Scott, Gerry McAuther

Electrician: Maurice Blaire

Location Sound: Albert Kirk, Jim McGirr, P.J. McGirr, Richard Kendrick

Graphics: Trevor McCormick

Post Production Editor: Philip White

Research: Elaine Lennon

Production: Adrian Logan, Robert Lamrock 

Featuring: Ambrose Rodgers, Paul Higgins, Brian McAvoy, Dr Maurice Hayes, D.J. Kane, Leo Murphy, Jimmy Doyle, T.P. Murphy, Marie Grant, Father Terry Rafferty, Peter McGrath, Barney Carr, Larry Duggan, Paddy O'Rourke and James McCartan .




Please scroll to review and accept our terms and conditions (last updated on ) before viewing the moving images content.

To remember your terms and conditions acceptance, you can register as a site member or allow cookies on your browser.